Single Review: Warmduscher – Midnight Dipper

‘Midnight Dipper’ is the first taste of Warmduscher’s new album Tainted Lunch which is released on 1st November 2019. A simple drum beat takes up the first eight bars of this absolute banger of a track. The rest of the track? Taken up with an irresistible throbbing beat that is just destined for indie discos and festival tents up and down the country. Heavy BBC6 Music radio play via (long term Warmduscher fan) Marc Riley has already got people whispering about the ‘Midnight Dipper’.

The lyrics? I’m afraid to ask! The throb lends itself to a certain delivery by Clams Baker III singing about “…a midnight dipper, with a pocket full of grease and a finger on his trigger”. Channelling both Jon Spencer and the Reverend Horton Heat, all via Anthony Kiedis, the delivery by Baker is exquisite in its perfect mixture of horizontal delivery and sleaze.

This track is impossible to stay put to as it simply has THE most funky, driving, pulse I’ve heard for ages. Its tongue in cheek sleazy explicit content may turn a few heads, but hey fuck it. We live in very strange times. ‘Midnight Dipper’ has the power to stop a person in their tracks, grab them by the lapels and scream in their face. Not many bands have this power, so for that alone, Warmduscher should be applauded.

Even more so after the last third break down. Practically falling to his knees evangelically and screaming “love is real”. The track gets going again along with extra ride cymbals which bring an almost euphoric feel to the last few second of the track!

And after coming to an abrupt halt, the track is over and one has listened to hands down one of the best tracks of the year so far. Just magnificent. Here’s to hearing the full LP!

Warmduscher is: Clams Baker III, Lightin’ Jack Everett, Mr Salt Fingers Lovecraft, Quicksand and The Witherer. The LP Tainted Lunch was produced by the amazing Speedy Wunderground label founder and producer Dan Carey.

Warmduscher live 2019:

Thu 24 Oct: Croc’ The Rock Festival, Étangières, CH
Thu 31 Oct: Brudenell Social Club, Leeds, UK
Fri 1 Nov: The Crescent, York, UK
Sat 2 Nov: White Hotel, Manchester, UK
Sun 3 Nov: Hare & Hounds, Birmingham, UK
Mon 4 Nov: The Fleece, Bristol, UK
Tue 5 Nov: Joiners, Southampton, UK
Wed 6 Nov: Village Underground (w/ Squid), London, UK
Thu 7 Nov: Elsewhere, Margate, UK
Fri 8 Nov: The Haunt, Brighton, UK
Sat 9 Nov: Iceland Airwaves Festival, Reykjavík, IS
Sun 10 Nov: Sonic City, Kortrijk, BE
Thu 14 Nov: The Cookie, Leicester, UK
Fri 15 Nov: Trades Club, Hebden Bridge, UK
Sat 16 Nov: Brave Exhibitions Festival, Newcastle, UK

Review by Ioan Humphreys
warmduscher.co.uk

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: