The single release ‘Jete Nahi Dibo’ is taken from the forthcoming The Voices and Bridges project from Iranian santoor virtuoso (a hammered dulcimer) and composer Ehsan Matoori. On this release we have an exquisite collaboration with Matoori joining with vocalists Bombay Jayashri from India, and fellow Iranian Alireza Ghorbani.

‘Jete Nahi Dibo’ (I won’t let you go) is a story drawn from Ehsan Matoori’s personal history. 9 years ago, born out of tiredness and frustration, he had to leave his home country which also meant leaving his love behind. He says:

“I had nightmares every night saying to myself, “I wish you hadn’t gone. I wish I hadn’t let you go.” But my body was gone, and my soul and heart were left there. This contradiction in life and all the moments when you want to be where you are not, made me feel suffocated.”

This struggle and sense of loss of the journey is beautifully captured in the accompanying animation of director Omid Aeenehchi and Joyzine readers will be amongst the first people to see this beautiful and moving work. With instant gratification now measured in milliseconds ‘Jete Nahi Dibo’ is a little under 8 minutes but, despite its running time, it will reward you with the feeling you have been on an amazing journey. I could talk about the endangered genre of Kashmiri oral traditions, the beautiful melodies of the Bansuri, a side blown flute from the Indian subcontinent, and many more things, but if this track moves you then I would advise digging deeper into the artists and I also hope to review the Voices and Bridges album for Joyzine.

Vocalists: Bombay Jayashri, Alireza Ghorbani / Composed and Produced: Ehsan Matoori / Arrangement: Ali Montazeri, Ehsan Matoori

Video Director: Omid Aeenehchi / Lyrics: Lal Ded, Nima Youshij, Rabindranath Tagore, Rumi / Linguist Advice: Dr. Sadaf Munshi

Musicians: Mike Block (Cello), Greg Ellis (Percussion), Ali Jafaripouyan (Violin), Raman Kalyan (Indian Flute), Meysam Marvasti (Violin), Sami Merdinian (Violin), Milad Omranlou and Vocapella Tehran (Choir), Edward Perez (Bass), Poovular Sriji (solkattu), Nathan Schram (Viola).

Review by Paul F Cook

Keep up to date with all new content on Joyzine via our
Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Mailing List

1 comment

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: