The Joyzine Advent Calendar #5: 24 Days of Free Music Downloads

Yesterday saw a double portion of exclusive new tracks from two of our favourite punk bands Salt The Snail and Dead Horse (get them both here). Today we have yet another track by a Joyzine fave that you won’t find anywhere else.

As always, the tracks are completely free to to download and there’s no need to sign up to any mailing lists to access the tracks (though if you’d like to you can join ours here), but with the UK’s independent music venues in peril following almost a year of covid restrictions, we’d love you to make a donation to the Music Venue Trust‘s #saveourvenues campaign if you enjoy these tracks. You can make a donation to the fund, or to a specific venue of your choice here.

The Awkward Silences have been ploughing an ideosyncratic outsider pop furrow since the late 2000’s and last month saw the release of their eponymous fourth album through the ever excellent Blang Records, reviewed with much relish by Joyzine’s Hind El Bouaissaoui here.

Today’s track ‘You Should Have Been Here 20 Years Ago’ was recorded as part of the album sessions with Robyn Stewart joining the band on trumpet, but it didn’t quite fit with the rest of the LP and so didn’t make the final record. In the words of frontman Paul Hawkins, the song’s tale of attempted time travel, job insecurity and reduced life opportunities “feels sadly apt in the current moment.”

Download ‘You Should Have Been Here 20 Years Ago’
If you enjoy this track please consider making a donation to the #saveourvenues campaign

Keep up to date with The Awkard Silences on Facebook / Twitter

Come back tomorrow for more exclusive tracks + check out the tracks from previous windows, all of which are still available to download:

Day 1: Piney Gir ft. Roxys + MJ Hibbett
Day 2: Brixton Hill Studio Band + Friends
Day 3: Oh!Gunquit + The Kecks
Day 4: Salt The Snail + Dead Horse


Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: