On the Joyzine Advent Calendar we’re giving away free downloads of tracks by artists that we love (including plenty of exclusives and a fair few festive favourites) every day until Christmas Eve on what, as far as we’re aware (and we’re always happy to be corrected), is the longest running such calendar on the web.

As always, the tracks are completely free to download and there’s no need to sign up to any mailing lists to access the songs (though if you’d like to you can join ours here), but if you’re enjoying the tunes we’d love you to make a donation to the wonderful charity Child Poverty Action Group, who work on behalf of the more than one in four children currently growing up in poverty in the UK by providing support to families navigating the social security system, taking legal action to challenge unjust decisions and campaigning for change. You can make a donation on this link.

Joyzine writer Paul F Cook cites Ree-Vo’s album All Welcome On Planet Ree-Vo as a “a stone-cold instant classic”… ”It holds a mirror up to a broken society but also mines for optimism and this glorious alchemy that happens when Andy Spaceland and T. Relly get together must be making this planet spin a little faster.

Bristol- based Ree-Vo are Andy Spaceland (AKA Andy Jenks) and rapper T. Relly and All Welcome On Planet Ree-Vo is infectious from the opening track mixing the urban with the fantastical, stirring in movie quotes and the occasional Bristolian twang (“all right my lover“) and filling your ears up with beats that make it hard to stay still. As Paul F Cook says “It’s full of fun and fear, rooted in reality but also giving dopamine hits of escapism; a cosmos of sounds that swirl around in space and pulled to the gravity of different musical styles but staying totally cohesive and beguiling.

Andy and T. Relly also gave Joyzine their ‘My Life in 10 Songs‘ and for our Advent Calendar they raided the Ree-Vo toybox to give us an exclusive – not heard anywhere else – Rob Smith mix of their track ‘Protein’. The dark and brooding take on the track strips everything back to beat and pulse with the vocals popping up like whack-a-mole throughout.

You can download the track here

Joyzine looks forward to whatever Ree-Vo bring us in 2023 but, whatever it is, we know that it will have more bounce per ounce than a kangaroo’s pounce.

Ree-Vo socials: Facebook | Bandcamp | Instagram | Twitter | Soundcloud | YouTube

If you enjoy the track, we’d love you to consider making a donation to Child Poverty Action Group

Check back every day until Christmas Eve for more free music – if you’ve missed a day, you’ll find all of this year’s tracks so far on the links below. Merry Christmas everyone!

Day One: Piney Gir – Do Good For Goodness Sake
Day Two: Lost Map Records present Firestations – Swim Under The Winter
Day Three: LOUD WOMEN present Killdren – Expect a Crimewave
Day Four: Scratchy Records present The Rocks, Jonny Cola & The A-Grades, Bromide + Coach Hop
Day Five: Deux Furieuses – Bring Down The Government Home Demo
Day Six: Extradition Order – Bold
Day Seven: Blang Records present Thomas Truax + Faux Fibbers
Day Eight: Alcopop! Records present Dream Nails + Helen Love
Day Nine: MiKey & The SkEletons – On and On
Day Ten: Ben Fox Smith – Human Rights
Day Eleven: Nini Bong + The Fades
Day Twelve: The May + Xqui
Day Thirteen: Hey You Guys! – Onward Christian Soldiers (live)
Day Fourteen: Chemtrails – Gee Whizz Billy Base
Day Fifteen: Hot Sauce Pony – Just Like Christmas
Day Sixteen: Reckless Yes Records present Breakup Haircut + Nervous Twitch + Feral Five + Electric Pets + The Incomprehensible Static

Keep up to date with all new content on Joyzine via our
Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Mailing List

1 comment

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: