Advent Calendar #10 – 24 Days of Free Music Downloads

We’ve reached double figures on this year’s Advent Calendar and to celebrate we have a double helping of free music downloads for you.

Michael James Hall

Joyzine will be celebrating our 15th year in 2018, and one of the most important moments of our early years was getting involved with the wonderful people at Rocklands/Pop of the Tops and their month of Alternative Rock Idol gigs at the sadly deceased Paradise Bar in New Cross.  On its tiny stage (which featured a ‘Billie Jean’ style light up floor) we were introduced to the nascent Art Brut and Bloc Party, as well as many others: Special Needs, Ludes, Twisted Charm, Chris T-T and more who went on to become firm Joyzine favourites.

Another act that Pop of the Tops introduced us to were Nebraska, and whilst the band called it a day a while back, we have a track from former member Michael James Hall.  ‘Home Alone 4 Is Not Canon’ is a splendid slice of lo-fi stream of consciousness, with a touch of festive humbug.

Download ‘Home Alone 4 Is Not Canon’

emily ewing

At the other end of the scale, we were introduced to Emily Ewing just a few weeks ago, via Dave Draper of Hey You Guys!, who provided Day 1’s free treats and with whom Emily recorded ‘Season Bright’, which is available for you to download today.

A duet with Robert Lane, it’s a shimmering Christmas pop number – you can watch the video and download the track below.

Download ‘Season Bright’

More free Advent Calendar downloads:

Day 1: Hey You Guys!, Man & Wife, Isle of the Cheetah, Oliver Edkins + Peter Richard Adams
Day 2: Matt Finucane
Day 3: Jennifer Denitto
Day 4: Piney Gir
Day 5: Bugeye
Day 6: The Scaramanga Six
Day 7: Upcdownc + In Arcadia
Day 8: Lark
Day 9: Lahayna