The Joyzine Advent Calendar #16: 24 Days of Free Music

It’s day sixteen on The Joyzine Advent Calendar and we’ve another label special with a brace of great tracks from the same imprint.

Buzzhowl Records have been putting out some excellent noises since setting up in the summer, with the likes of Bo Gritz, Gravves and Dead Tenants included on their debut compilation.  Today they’ve provided us with tracks from two upcoming Buzzhowl releases.

typical hunks
Photo by Debbie Roberts

Reading based noise-rock duo Typical Hunks have recorded an exclusive cheeky cover of festive favourite ‘Little Drummer Boy’, adding programmed beats courtesy of their drum machine Dr Rhythm in place of the titular percussionist and layers of discordant fuzz in place of Bing Crosby’s cardigan.

The band are set to release a single on 7″ vinyl and digital download through Buzzhowl in the spring.

Download ‘Little Drummer Boy’ (right click to save)

promo pic 1

Beige Palace‘s debut album Leg will be out on Buzzhowl in February, a record which, according to guitarist Freddy Vinehill-Cliffe will cover ‘the politics of figure skating, reimagining the genesis of the universe as a conversation between a mother and her petulant son, half-garbled childhood memories and chin-stroking aesthetic theory about the qualities of “dirt”’.

We’re giving you a little preview of the album in the form of pounding art-rock lead single ‘Ketchup Dirt’.

Download ‘Ketchup Dirt’ (right click to save)

Previously on The Joyzine Advent Calendar:
1st: MJ Hibbett & The Validators – Silent Night
2nd: Vienna Ditto – Amazing Grace
3rd: Mein Haus – Skin & Blista
4th: Damaged Goods Records – Wild Billy Childish & The Musicians of The British Empire, Helen Love, Miss Ludella Black, The Shadracks + Thee Dagger Debs
5th: Peter with Rosie – The Market Towns
6th: Thee More Shallows – Santa Baby (Monotreme Records)
7th: Salad – Billy
8th: GUTTFULL – White Man’s Had His Day
9th: Subliminal Girls – What You Want
10th: West Midlands – Shit Business At The L.A. Fitness
11th: Mega Emotion + Lady Di
12th: Matt Edible & The Obtuse Angels – Advent Beard
13th: The Burning Hell – Eight Days & Eight Nights
14th: Hurtling – Brilliant Mind
15th: Luxembourg – Got to Get

%d bloggers like this: